The Perks of Being a Wallflower .. or Tales of the Severly Traumatized

Friday night, I saw the Perks of Being a Wallflower.  I’m still not sure if I liked it or not.  One thing is for certain, I know of no high school around that houses a group of such messed up kids.  There were some good moments, but at times it seemed like they were just zinging Breakfast Club type lines back and forth instead of having a real conversation.

One of the best characters was Dylan McDermott as the dad.  He had some of the funniest lines and was only on camera for a brief time.  Married to him was Kate Walsh, who I had a hard time believing was the mother of a college student named Derek.  Didn’t I just see her on Tuesday as the mother of an infant with an ex-husband named Derek?

A few accent issues with Hermione, I mean Emma Watson but that didn’t bother me as much as it did my moviemates.

Overall, the popcorn was tastier than the movie.  I had a nice time but I think this was a bit too much of a crazy ride (pun intended) for a repeat viewing

Leave a Reply

